Text size
Home / Work With Us/ Physicians and Medical Learners

Physicians and Medical Learners

Chief of Staff Office

The chief of staff office provides a number of services to support and facilitate the relationship of St. Mary’s General Hospital (SMGH) and Grand River Hospital (GRH) to the professional staff (physicians, dentists and midwives). Our purpose is to work closely with medical leaders, hospital administrative leaders and medical schools to support recruitment, credentialing, career and leadership development planning, orientation and medical education.

835 King St. West, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1G3
Phone: 519-749-4300 ext. 3892
Fax: 519-749-4293

Dr. Peter Potts, Chief of Staff
St. Mary’s General Hospital/Grand River Hospital

Lindsay Caroppo, Interim Medical Affairs Coordinator
519-749-4300 ext. 2507

Tanja Cvijetic,  Medical Affairs Coordinator, Credentialing & Recruitment
519-749-4300 ext. 3892

Sarah Carr, Medical Education Coordinator
519-749-4300 ext. 2525

Chelsea Hillier, Interim Executive Assistant
519-749-4300 ext. 3892

  • Anesthesia: Dr. Magid Morgan, common chief GRH/SMGH
  • Cardiovascular services: Dr. Brian McNamara, common chief GRH/SMGH
  • Complex Continuing Care and Rehab: Dr. Lisa DiNicolo, chief GRH (interim)
  • Critical care medicine: Dr. Paul Hosek, interim chief GRH
  • Critical care medicine: Dr. Jon Langridge, interim chief SMGH
  • Diagnostic imaging: Dr. Derek Karanwal, common chief GRH/SMGH
  • Emergency medicine: Dr. Jay Green, common chief GRH/SMGH
  • Hospitalist and family medicine: Dr. Phil Kowtecky, common chief GRH/SMGH
  • Internal medicine: Dr. Rebecca Van Alstine, common chief GRH/SMGH
  • Laboratory medicine: Dr. Dimitrios Divaris, common chief GRH/SMGH (interim)
  • Nephrology: Dr. Gerald Rosenstein, chief GRH
  • Nuclear medicine: Dr. Richard Dubeau, chief SMGH
  • Oncology: Dr. Gregory Knight, chief GRH
  • Pediatrics: Dr. Bruno DiGravio, chief GRH
  • Psychiatry: Dr. John Heintzman, chief GRH
  • Pulmonary services: Dr. Mary Jackson, common chief GRH/SMGH (interim)
  • Reproductive medicine: Dr. Stephen Halmo, chief GRH
  • Surgery: Dr. Bogdan Paun, common chief GRH/SMGH

The medical staff association represents physicians on various hospital committees. Meetings provide an open platform for medical staff to ask questions and raise concerns to hospital administration and chief of staff. The association’s president (GRH/SMGH) and vice-president are currently vacant.